The public is cordially invited to an Open House at the Quonochontaug Grange .
The Friends of the Quonochontaug Grange, Inc. is hosting the Open House in recognition of its collaboration with the Grange’s owner, the Dunn’s Corners Fire District, to assure the long-term preservation of the Grange as a community resource, meeting place and centerpiece of significant local history. The event will focus on the history of the Grange, its importance to our community and its preservation. Steeped in a local agricultural history that traces back to the early 1900s, the current “Quonnie Grange” building is of a more recent vintage.
Freed from the constraints and obligations posed by America’s entry into WW II, Grange members (known as the “Patrons of Husbandry”) from the Charlestown area embarked on the design, construction and opening of the Quonnie Grange almost 70 years ago. Dedicated in 1948, the “Quonnie Grange” continues as a community resource, meeting place and centerpiece of local history. Whether you attended a turkey supper, Scouts meeting, dance party, family gathering or some other event at the Grange, it evokes pleasant memories of special occasions and just plain community camaraderie.
So join the Friends of the Grange at the Quonnie Grange Open House on August 21st and learn about its history, agricultural mission and, most importantly “Renaissance” made possible through the collaboration between its owner, the Dunn’s Corner Fire District, and its steward, The Friends of the Quonochontaug Grange, Inc.