Please sign our candidates’ nomination papers – Quonnie Grange – July 5 or 6

Please join us either this Saturday or Sunday, anytime from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m, July 5 or 6, at the Quonnie Grange and help CCA endorsed candidates get on the November ballot. We will be there both days!

Where: The Quonnie Grange, 5664 Post Rd, (Rt. 1) between East and West Beach Rd., next to Dunn’s Corners Fire Station
When: Saturday or Sunday, July 5 or 6, from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m (come either day)
What: All we need is your signature on the candidates’ nomination papersThese candidates will be volunteering their time for the next two years or longer, please take a few minutes of your own time to help them get started.

We will have nomination papers for the following 13 terrific candidates:

Town Council

Thomas B. Gentz – Tom has served as president of the Charlestown Town Council since 2010. He has deep roots in Charlestown. His wife’s family has lived here for generations. Currently retired, he was formerly an executive in the health care field and holds an MBA. Tom is a veteran of the US Navy.

Virginia Lee – Virginia is a nationally recognized coastal planner who received her Masters of Science at URI’s Graduate School of Oceanography. She is a leading expert on Rhode Island’s coastal ponds – they are in fact her life’s work. She has lived in South County since the 1970s, moving to Charlestown five years ago.

Denise L. Rhodes – In recent years, Denise has been active in the effort to bring regulation to the mining and excavation industries in Rhode Island to protect the environment and public health. She is bringing her activism to the next level with a run for public office.

George C. Tremblay – George is a past member of the Planning Commission and currently serves on the Town Council. He had a successful career as a Professor of Biochemistry and is a former business owner. He is a 31 year resident of Charlestown and holds a PhD in biochemistry.

Bonnita B. Van Slyke – Bonnie is the third generation of her family to live in Charlestown, and she and her husband live in the house that her father built in 1950. She works in book publishing as a copy editor and page layout artist. Since 2004 she has served as a director of the Frosty Drew Memorial Fund that operates the Frosty Drew Nature Center and Observatory and is also its treasurer. She has a BA in economics.

School Committee

Ronald J. Areglado – Ron is the recipient of several prestigious national and state awards. Last year he was appointed to serve as a member of the Chariho School Committee. He has worked over 45 years in a variety of urban, suburban and rural educational settings spanning elementary schools to graduate school. He holds a Doctorate in Educational Policy, Research and Planning. Ron has lived in Charlestown since 1998.

Donna Chambers – Donna was appointed by the Charlestown Town Council to serve a seat vacated last November. Donna has a BS and a MA as well as 45 years experience in education and currently works with several New England states as an adult education consultant with expertise in proficiency-based teaching and learning.

Town Moderator

Leone D. Mainelli – Leo earned a degree in Mechanical Engineering from URI, and later an MBA from the University of Hartford. He worked for Pratt & Whitney as a Regional Manager for Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. He was active for 25 years in local government in South Windsor, CT where he lived before moving to Charlestown full-time in 2000. He is a member of the Board of Directors of Salt Ponds Coalition, and many other URI and Charlestown committees and organizations.

Planning Commission

Mark C. Alexander – Mark has a BS in Space Sciences from Florida Institute of Technology and is a retired semiconductor engineer. Mark has more than 15 years of experience as a volunteer coach for youth football, baseball and basketball and has spent time volunteering and substitute teaching at Charlestown Elementary and Chariho Middle and High Schools. He has lived in Charlestown since 1995.

Gordon L. Foer – Gordon is currently on the Planning Commission, having been elected in 2008. He holds a Masters degree from Tufts University in Urban and Environmental Policy. He is a former chair and member of the Charlestown Conservation Commission, a co-founder of the Charlestown Land Trust, and has lived in Charlestown since 1993. He is part owner and a Board member of Biomes Marine Biology Center and an adjunct professor at New England Institute of Technology.

Barbara A. Heavers – Barbara is an artist, farmer, scientist, and an award winning educator with Ph.D, MS, and BS degrees in Biology and Zoology. She has taken an active role in land preservation in Charlestown by placing a large portion of her farm in permanent preservation with the Charlestown Land Trust. She has lived in Charlestown since 1971.

Frances M. Topping – Frances is a Natural Science Illustrator, fine artist, educator and naturalist. She has both a Bachelor of Science in Geography with Botany and Zoology and a Bachelor of Fine Arts. She is a past member of the Charlestown Conservation Commission and volunteers for the RI Wild Plant Society, the RI Natural History Survey and other groups and has lived in Charlestown for 12 years.

Constance D. Vadnais-Baker – Connie has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Management and Economics and 36 years of experience in the financial services industry and has been a volunteer for 10 years on the Charlestown Land Trust as well as a member of the Board of Directors. She is a current member of the Planning Commission.

Candidates will be at the Quonochontaug Grange on Saturday and Sunday (July 5 and 6) from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m with signature papers for you to sign.

Thanks, and hope to see you there!

We have a list of all candidates running in Charlestown at