CCA Endorses Candidates for Town Council and Planning Commission

CCA has endorsed candidates for Town Council and Planning Commission. These candidates have pledged to adhere to the CCA mission of:

  • open, professional and ethical government that is transparent
  • preservation of our natural resources (drinking water, Salt Ponds, freshwater ponds, open space, etc.)
  • responsible development that does not negatively impact our natural resources, quality of life and infrastructure
  • opposition to a casino of any kind in Charlestown
  • fiscal responsibility

Below are the CCA endorsed candidates and short bios on each – look for extended bios in future emails. And thanks for your support on November 6!!

For Town Council:

Ron Areglado – Ron is the recipient of several prestigious national and state awards. He has worked over 45 years in a variety of urban, suburban and rural educational settings spanning elementary schools to graduate school. He holds a Doctorate in Educational Policy, Research and Planning.

Tom Gentz – Tom is currently president of the Charlestown Town Council. He has deep roots in Charlestown. His wife’s family has lived here for generations. Currently retired, he was formerly an executive in the health care field and holds an MBA. Tom is a veteran of the US Navy.

Dan Slattery – Currently, Dan is Vice President of the Town Council. Dan is retired and formerly spent 34 years in public service. He volunteered on the Charter Revision Committee from 2007 to 2010. He is also a US Air Force veteran.

George Tremblay – George currently serves on the Planning Commission which has spurred his interest in becoming a member of the Town Council. He had a successful career as a Professor of Biochemistry and a former business owner. He is a 29 year resident of Charlestown and holds a PhD in biochemistry.

For Planning Commission:

Connie Baker – Connie has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Management and Economics and 36 years of experience in the financial services industry and has been a volunteer for 6 years on the Charlestown Land Trust as well as a member of the Board of Directors and a member of the Charlestown Affordable Housing Commission.

Gordon Foer – Gordon is currently on the Planning Commission, having been elected in 2008. He holds a Masters degree from Tufts University in Urban and Environmental Policy. He is a former chair and member of the Charlestown Conservation Commission and has lived in Charlestown since 1993. He teaches at the New England Institute of Technology

Peter Herstein – Pete has been a resident of Charlestown since 1996. He is President of the Cross’ Mills Public Library Board of Trustees, and has served on that board continuously since 1999. He also has served on the Sachem Passage Association Board of Directors since 2010, and is currently President of that Board. Pete has a bachelor’s degree in engineering physics from Cornell University, and a Masters degree in ocean engineering from the University of Rhode Island. He was a civilian physicist for the U.S. Navy for 37 years, retiring in 2009.

Jan Knost – Jan is a Unitarian Minister and published poet with degrees in Psychology and Divinity who seeks to protect Charlestown’s beauty and natural resources during his term on the Planning Commission.

Ruth Platner – Ruth currently serves as the Chairman of the Planning Commission and was elected to the Commission in 1998 focusing her energies on protecting our tax rate and natural resources. She is a graduate of Syracuse University, a Microbiologist and Computer Programmer, an organic farmer, and an avid bicyclist.

We’ll have more election coverage soon, including in depth information about candidates, at our website and in email.

Tell your neighbors and friends about our email list, forward them this email or our web site address and let them know we are a free service!!